Future Health Professionals

About HOSA Future Health Professionals


The mission of HOSA is to empower HOSA-Future Health Professionals to become leaders in the global health community through education, collaboration, and experience.


The purpose of HOSA-Future Health Professionals is to develop leadership and technical HOSA skill competencies through a program of motivation, awareness and recognition, which is an integral part of the Health Science Education instructional program.

HOSA International Leadership Conference - Stargate students claimed two 'top 10' awards this summer at the HOSA International Leadership Conference for Future Health Professionals. The team of Deeksha Gaddam, Sahithi Govardhanam and Diya Patel placed 5th in the nation in Community Awareness for their work raising awareness for epilepsy. Hannah Nguyen finished 10th in the nation in Medical Terminology. Four other Stargate students, Upasana Shrestha, Kopal Chaurasia, Gayathri Ruthirakotti and Samridhi Shrestha. also competed at the conference. All eight qualified by placing in the top 3 in their events at the Colorado HOSA State Conference, held in Feb. 2020. Read more about the HOSA conference.

HOSA Barbara James Awards - six Stargate students earned Barbara James Bronze Awards for over 100 hours of volunteer service in the health industry. They were Simone Adhikari, Kopal Chaurasia, Vaishnavi Golla, Ariya Gowda, Diya Patel and Samridhi Shrestha. Two students received the Silver Barbara James Award for over 150 hours of service: They were Megha Kumar and Hirali Trivedi.

Colorado State HOSA Competition - Stargate HOSA Future Health Professional students competed in the Colorado State HOSA Competition last week. We have 60 Stargate students in HOSA this year, and 33 of them competed at the State level. These students studied, trained, presented, and competed in various health science events under the supervision of President Kopal Chaurasia and VP Deeksha Gaddam. I am proud to announce that 23 STARGATE STUDENTS placed in the top 3 in their events and thus qualify to advance to Nationals this summer!

Please take a moment to congratulate the following students for being some of the best health science students in the State of Colorado!!!

Hannah Nguyen - 1st place Medical Terminology, 1st place Pharmacy Science, 1st place Healthcare Issues

Madeline Gregory - 1st place Veterinary Science

Allison Sanders - 1st place Research Poster

Quan Nguyen - 1st place Epidemiology

Ishita Mehta - 1st place Nutrition, 2nd place Healthcare Issues

Kopal Chaurasia - 1st place Medical Innovation Team

Gayathri Ruthirakotti - 1st place Medical Innovation Team, 4th place EMT Team

Hirali Trivedi - 1st place Medical Innovation Team, 4th place EMT Team

Megha Kumar - 1st place Medical Innovation Team, 3rd place Epidemiology

Anika Dash - 2nd place Behavioral Health

Anushka Udeshi - 2nd place Prepared Speaking, 9th place Forensic Science

Nick Nguyen - 2nd place Pharmacology, 3rd place Pharmacy Science

Diya Patel - 2nd place Community Awareness Team

Sahithi Govardhanam - 2nd place Community Awareness Team

Deeksha Gaddam - 2nd place Community Awareness Team

Keya Chaurasia - 3rd place Medical Spelling

Lynne Nguyen - 3rd place Healthcare Issues, 4th place Medical Terminology

Srisahanaa Chandramohan - 3rd place CPR/First Aid Team

Addie Constantinides - 3rd place CPR/First Aid Team

Elizabeth Clement - 3rd place Health Education Team

Maeve Fehringer - 3rd place Health Education Team

Malavika Iyengar - 3rd place Medical Innovation Team

Valerie Kim - 3rd place Medical Innovation Team

Yolanda Ofori - 4th place Nutrition

Sarah Goyette - 6th place Medical Reading

Hetasri Galla - 9th place Behavioral Health

Anika Gowda - 10th place Medical Law and Ethics, Barbara James Volunteer Service Award

Allison Xin - 10th place Medical Math

Kurt Riggin- Barbara James Volunteer Service Award